The Swedish Migration Agency logotype

The Schengen cooperation

The purpose of the Schengen cooperation is to enable people to move freely between the countries that are a party to it. All who enter or leave the Schengen zone, however, are to be carefully checked. Today 26 countries have become a party to the cooperation.

Schengen coope­ra­tion

Read about which countries are members of the Schengen cooperationexternal link, opens in new window on the government's website.

Moving freely is the guiding prin­ciple

All persons legally present in the Schengen zone can move about freely without having to show passports when crossing internal frontiers. It applies to those with residence permits and visas in a Schengen country and those who do not need visas. The traveller must be able to show their passport or identity card where the nationality is clear. The identity card applies for EU citizens. Asylum seekers can not move about freely between the countries.

Internal frontiers are defined as the national boundaries between the countries taking part in Schengen, together with airports and seaports in the case of traffic to and from a Schengen country. You can cross the internal frontiers wherever and whenever you like without having to undergo personal checks.

The external boundaries of the zone are the borders with countries that are not a party to the Schengen Agreement. At the external boundaries all travellers are to be carefully checked. The traveller may only cross these borders at special checkpoints and only during predetermined opening hours.

The Schengen Infor­ma­tion System, SIS

SIS is a common data system that Schengen countries are using to search for and exchange information. Each SIS member may enter computerised particulars about persons, vehicles or objects that are missing or wanted. The SIS also has a blacklist that allows the participating countries to keep a record of persons they do not wish to see entering the Schengen zone. A person on the blacklist may have committed a serious crime, for instance, or may have been expelled or deported and ordered not to re-enter a country for a specific period of time.

Read more about SIS on The Swedish Data Protection Authority website (only in Swedish)external link

Common visa policy

An important part of the Schengen scheme is its common visa policy. Agreement has been reached on which countries' citizens require visas to enter the Schengen zone. A visa issued in a Schengen country is valid for three months at the most, and usually also for visits to any of the other Schengen countries.

Read more about the rules for those who want to visit Sweden

Last updated: 2020-02-03

Was the information on this page helpful to you?