Brexit – the transition period has now ended

The transition period that began when the withdrawal agreement came into force on 1 of February 2020 ended on 31 of December. This means that the rules for third-country nationals now apply to British citizens who want to move to Sweden.

When the withdrawal agreement between the UK and the EU entered into effect on 1 February 2020, a transition period began. On December 31, the transition period ended. British citizens who lived in Sweden before the turn of the year will be able to retain the right to live, work and study here by applying for residence status.

The application for residence status is open up to and including 30 September 2021.

British citizens who move to Sweden after 31 December 2020 are covered by the same rules as other third-country citizens and cannot apply for residence status. The exception is children and certain family members who have a possibility of applying for residence status even if they move to Sweden after this date if they intend to join a British family member in Sweden. They must then apply for residence status within three months of arriving.

Read more about residence status and how to apply.