Refusal of entry with immediate effect

The Swedish Migration Agency issues an order for refusal of entry with immediate effect if it is obvious that you neither have a need for protection nor other grounds for a residence permit. If you receive such an order, you must leave Sweden immediately.

A decision to refuse your application remains in effect for four years. If you receive an order for refusal of entry with immediate effect, you are subject to a re-entry ban, which means that you cannot enter any country in the Schengen Area, or Romania, Bulgaria, and Croatia for at least two years.

Accepting the order

You can also indicate that you accept the order by signing a paper referred to as a declaration of acceptance. Once you have signed the declaration, you can no longer appeal and you must leave Sweden immediately. Even if you do not accept the order you have to leave Sweden at once after receiving the order.

Appealing the order

If you do not accept the order you have the right to appeal, but you must still leave Sweden immediately. You appeal must be received by the Migration Agency at the latest within three weeks of being notified of the order.

Read more about appealing against the order

Planning your return journey

You are required to leave Sweden immediately after receiving the order. You are responsible for planning your return journey, obtaining a valid passport, and other requirements for returning to your country of origin or another country where you have a residence permit. The Migration Agency may support and help you with contacts in your country of origin or by booking the journey.

Read more about returning voluntary

Accommodation, bank card, and Asylum Seeker Card

Three weeks after receiving the order you can no longer appeal. This means that you no longer have the right to accommodation or financial support from the Migration Agency. This will apply to you if you are an adult who does not live with children under 18 years of age for whom you are the guardian.

Prior to leaving Sweden you must return your Asylum Seeker Card (LMA-card) to the Migration Agency. If you have received a bank card from the Migration Agency, you must withdraw the money from the account and return the card. If you have lived in one of the Migration Agency’s accommodations, you must leave the accommodation and return the keys.

Health care and school

Up to the day you leave Sweden you will have the same right to health service as before, but you will not receive any financial compensation for medicines or healthcare once your order of departure is in effect and your right to financial support has expired. 

Children have the right to go to school as long as they are still in Sweden.

Read more about children and asylum

If you do not obey the decision

If you do not cooperate by leaving Sweden, the Migration Agency may decide to keep you under supervision or keep you in detention. Supervision means that you have to sign in at the Migration Agency or with the Police regularly. If are kept in detention, you will have to stay in a locked facility while awaiting departure.

If you still are entitled to financial support from the Migration Agency (e.g. families with children), you may receive a reduced daily allowance if you do not cooperate in leaving the country.

If the Migration Agency determines that force will be needed to carry out the order, the responsibility is turned over to the Swedish Police.

Read more about what will happen if you do not comply with the decision

New events after refusal

If something happens that makes it impossible for you to return, you must inform your Reception Unit. The Migration Agency will consider the presence of impediments to the deportation. Such impedimenta must deal with new information turning up after you have received the decision.

Read more about new events after refusal

The following countries are covered by the Schengen Agreement

Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

The re-entry ban also includes Romania, Bulgaria, and Croatia.

Last updated: 6 October 2016

Was the information on this page helpful to you?

Thank you for helping us improve our website!

Thank you for helping us improve our website!

Tell us how we can make this page better*

If you wish to ask the Migration Agency a question you can find our contact details under the heading Contact us.