The Swedish Migration Agency logotype

The organisation that processes applications for residence permits is divided into three main processes: Asylum, Permits and Service. Under these main processes there are also a number of subprocesses.

It is important that people who have contact with us obtain the guidance and service that they need, from when their application is submitted and throughout the whole of the subsequent process. Our intention is that good service and treatment will be part of all our activities. For this reason we also have a special process for applicant services.

Regi­onal orga­ni­sa­tion

Our operational activities are organised into six geographical regions: North Sweden, Mid Sweden, Stockholm, West, East and South Sweden. Within each region there are units that receive asylum seekers and examine different types of applications for residence permits.

Operational activities also include national departments: Detention, Litigation and National Operations Department. Asylum seekers and other foreigners who must be available when the time comes for them to leave the country are kept in detention centres, which are locked. Litigation handles cases that have been appealed, represents the Migration Agency in courts and examines whether there are any obstacles to a person returning.

The Migration Agency's regional organisation (in Swedish)PDF

Head Office

Our head office consists of the Senior Management, the Director-Generals staff and departments supporting the operational activities: Digitalisation and Development Department, Planning Department, Legal Affairs Department, Communications Department, Human Resources Department, and the Operation Support Department. The head office is located in Norrköping.

Inde­pen­dent func­tions

The Internal Audit, Internal investigations, Security and the Migration Agency's fund administration are all independent functions that report directly to the Director-General.

The Migration Agency's registered organisation number: 202100-2163

The Migration Agency's official email address:

Organisational chart of the Swedish Migration Agency

Click on the image to enlarge it